Dear Future Novel

r2iri2rirh

This post is a weaving of thoughts about us writers. I’m not talking about my novel in particular, but all of ours. I hope you enjoy ^_^

 

Dear Future Novel,

Hi. I just want to say that I’m a huge fan of your artwork in my life. Okay, I know I created you in the first place, but you’ve kinda taken over in some areas. For the good.

Novel, I remember when you were but an outline. I love you. I really, really do. And because I think you’re a beautiful chocolate cake, can I just mention some things that drive me nuts? Not to try to change you, but just to let you, ah, know…just in case…

I have clumps of hair missing from yanking at it while writing you. I agonize over dangling participles and character development,  and lose friends over excessive fangirling about your AWESOME plot twist (nice job surprising me on that one, by the way).

I just feel like I need to get this out, is that all right? BECAUSE I HATE YOU SOMETIMES.

(sorry, that sounded mean; I still love you)

You have wrecked my sanity, novel. WRECKED IT. I…I have very few brain cells left, I think. You’ve also taken up most of my thought processes (well, almost. I still think about all of your cousin-books out there, like, A LOT. The ones that are already published hehe…). You know that bad grade I got last school semester? YOUR FAULT.

Have I mentioned the hours I’ve spent pouring over you? CAN YOU STOP HAVING PROBLEMS????? I sit, forever, trying to make you perfect. ISN’T THAT WHAT YOU WANT? Help a girl out, novel. Sheesh.

Also, HABITS. I stare at a screen for the majority of my existence. THEN I get oh-so-excited because I have ideas and my life is a wonderful, wonderful cupcake-y thing. You and I are besties. We are inseparable. Aaand you stop. You just stop. Then, I AM NOT FINE. This is a construction-zone with metal walls filled with bees blocking my road to publishing you. You give me mood swings, what, fifteen times day?

I experience a breakthrough next. AND BLISS.

So now that I have that off my chest, can’t you see that I still love you??

Novel, you are beautiful. You have grown me in ways I could never imagine. You’ve sparked a childlike wonder inside an aging soul, and let me live in new worlds that no one who has ever existed has lived in before.

You’ve made me realize what I’m capable of, and continue to surprise me. It’s all worth the copious amounts of feels, frustration, confusion and stress. I wouldn’t give it up for the whole universe. You’ve made me realize that I am a writer.

My thoughts and feeling have bled onto your pages.

You have made me laugh.

You have made me cry.

You have turned a gloomy day into one of sunshine.

You have changed me.

Love,

Wendy

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Dear Future Novel

  1. Aww, that was adorable, Wendy. :3 I can relate to some of those things with my novel! It’s definitely given me grief when it decides to be difficult, but writing it has been so, so much fun. It’s so weird to look back on how it first started out compared to what it is now. o.o We have been through a lot, and it’s been worth it. B)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. *gasps* Oohhh this is so beautiful! As a writer of a novel in progress who can totally relate, the screen blurred as I was reading this… I love your style and prose! Particuarly the ending. It makes me want to write a poem, (as well as cry and laugh and nod craily). It’s so weird and wonderful how the stories and novels we right are windows to our joy and pain and how the characters we create end up becoming our best friends. In short: this is my new favorite blog post. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my goodness! That is so sweet of you to say; it made my night! ^_^ I honestly can’t stop smiling XD Yes! I totally agree! Novels are such beautiful things in general…and to be able to write something that could change someone’s life? Priceless. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

