A Ridiculous Writing Rut of Ruin

CAAAAT

Yes, ‘Tis true.

I am in a writing rut.

A.K.A. WRITER’S BLOCK. *cue scary music*

So, ladies, hold on to your corsets, gents, your suspenders, because I HAVE NEVER HAD WRITER’S BLOCK.

tumblr_inline_mpbylrKgCy1qz4rgp_zps01d7c659

The past five years has been pretty smooth sailing. I never really finished a WIP (until this past November) but that was only because I lost interest. But now, now is when IT happened.

Writer’s block.

A writer’s recurring nightmare that plagues them in slumber. The shadowy fingers nagging at the back of their mind. The cold tea sitting at their desk. The unicorn without a laser horn. The police officer without a donut. The Doctor without his companion. A banana without a monkey.

THIS IS SERIOUS STUFF PEOPLE.

I’m scared.

So I’m blogging about it and totally not freaking out (because I am a calm, dignified human being and have it all. under. control.).

BECAUSE NEWSFLASH IT IS CAMP NANOWRIMO AND I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT I’M DOING.

I’ve bounced around to THREE WIP’s and that, THAT will mess up your word count (I had to use a calculator you guys).

It’s like I don’t even know how to write anymore. During NaNoWriMo back in November, I had places where I had to think, but the words came anyway. Now it’s just like I can’t move forwards, backwards, OR ANYWHERE IN MY NOVEL. It’s like a traffic jam in the middle of a peanut butter sandwich (see what I did there???).

So by this point in reading, you may think I have some encouragement or advice for you.

Well, I don’t.

I do not know how to function with this trauma in my life. JUST THINKING ABOUT IT GIVES ME HIVES.

tumblr_n4h4p8hQ4Z1smcbm7o1_250

So, anyway, I forgive you for being tired of my rant, so I shall keep it short.

This is a public announcement thanking you for your patience.

Does anyone have some advice for getting through writer’s block because I would appreciate it and consider not throwing my microwave out the window out of sheer anxiety???

 

Leave a Reply

