Civil Rights (for the socially awkward) PART 1

Socially_Awkward

LIFE IS A CRUEL AND UNFAIR PLACE, RIGHT? Basically, you’ve been told that from day 1…or experienced it firsthand.

While a ton of circumstances in life are beautiful and lovely and happy squishy things, a lot isn’t necessarily easy.

WELL, IMAGINE BEING SOCIALLY AWKWARD, OKAY??

EVERYTHING IS HARD TIMES 1,000,000. So, if you aren’t socially awkward, here is a bit of what it’s like.

Going to the library:

As a socially awkward bookworm, this is a happy place. A quiet place. A solitary place. Basically, it’s a sanctuary for you and  your best friends (who aren’t people).

BUT THEN DISASTER STRIKES.

You’re looking for a specific Dickens book, but it is nowhere to be found. The online catalogue says it’s in the Fiction section under “Dic” BUT GUESS WHAT?

YOU JUST CAN’T FIND IT.

tumblr_inline_o6nf8gwyR51s4gzaf_500

It isn’t in it’s usual place where the other Dickens books are (two shelves to the right on the second row).

You’ve looked in the YA section, the Juvenile Fiction section, and even the stinking children’s section for pity’s sake. You’ve scoured every inch of the library, but know you just must be missing something.

Naturally, you go ask the nice librarian lady at the front desk, right?

UM, ABSOLUTELY NOT THAT IS A GIANT RED FLAG RIGHT THERE AND WOULD PROBABLY MEAN THE END OF THE WORLD.

So you’re just standing there, frozen. You need that Dickens book (because who doesn’t?) but there is no possible way to get it.

So you decide to settle for an audiobook, maybe. Unless they don’t have that either, in which case you travel to Europe to go get it.

Just as you’re walking out of the library, you see someone checking out a Dickens book–the EXACT ONE you were looking for– and faintly hear them saying in an all-too-cocky tone, “Thanks for finding it for me, it wasn’t in it’s usual place. I would’ve never found it on that corner shelf.”

HOW????? AND WHO PUTS A DICKENS BOOK ON A CORNER SHELF ANYWAY?!?!

Your instincts tell you to go punch that stinker right in the nose but your introverted side tells you to GET OUT OF THERE BEFORE THEY REALIZE WHAT A FAILURE YOU ARE.

large

It’s tough out there, kids.

At a wedding:

Oh, yay, they’ve said their vows and everything is hunky dory. Let’s go.

Everyone: “RECEPTION TIIIIIIIMEEEE!!!!!!”

You: *shrinks to the size of a pea* “Plz no.”

Everyone: “C’MON IT’LL BE SO FUN!”

You: “No.”

Everyone: “THERE WILL BE DANCING AND SOCIALIZING AND GAMES!”

You: “I’m good.”

Everyone: “BUT YOU NEED TO GET OUT THERE AND HAVE FUN ONCE AND A WHILE!”

You: *awkward laugh* “No thanks.”

Everyone: *uses physical force and literally tries to drag you to the party*

You: *suddenly finds superhero courage* “I SAID NO. NOW YOU WILL FACE MY DRAGON WRATH, MORTALS! I WILL TEAR YOU APART AND FEED YOU TO MY PIRANNAHS!”

Everyone: *blink* *blink*

You: …

Everyone: …

You: *pulls out book from purse* I’ll just be over here if anyone needs me.

HIH

 

So, yeah, this is just EVERY SINGLE DAY.

Next post is going to be a legitimate plea for Civil Rights for the Socially Awkward BECAUSE YOU CAN PREVENT TRAUMA IN AN INTROVERT’S LIFE.

This has been a public service announcement by the SAPA (Socially Awkward People of America) (It also kinda sounds like Sopapilla) (Mmmm Sopapillas)

So, tell me your opinion! What other completely normal circumstances gives you extreme anxiety? OR AM I JUST CRAZY?!? If you are one of the lucky people to be an extrovert, what do YOU think about this post, hmmmm?

7 thoughts on “Civil Rights (for the socially awkward) PART 1

  1. I’m weird, because I’m an introvert but I’m sociable. So asking for books and going to wedding receptions doesn’t bother me. But I HATE small talk. And I HATE large crowds where everyone is talking over everyone. And extroverts really need to learn social cues. If you see me reading, no talkie. If I have earbuds in, no talkie. If I’m on my computer, no talkie. If I’m by myself in the corner, no I didn’t have a bad day, I just don’t want to talkie. #dealwithit

    Liked by 3 people

    1. AGREED. Although I do have a hard time with socializing, I TOTALLY agree with the small talk thing. I just HATE when everyone is talking but no one is saying anything. And when people want to have conversations because they think I’m lonely XD (And I’m just like, I’m happy please go away) =P

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m an outgoing introvert, so some days it’s like “nope, not gonna talk to //anyone//” and some days I smile at all the strangers and give compliments and ALL THE THINGS.

    But I totally get you, girl. I used to be worse than I am, for other reasons beside introversion. But remember, baby: there’s nothing wrong with you. God made you to be the way you are, so don’t apologize ^.^

    (but wedding receptions DO have food so… small consolation at least.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is SO awesome, Lisa! *strives to be like you* =P AND THE FOOD THE = ALL THE YES. Especially since I’m actually going to a wedding today THIS WAS VERY ENCOURAGING!!!! =D

      Like

  3. Okay, so I know ZIP about psychology etc., but what you’re describing, esp. about not wanting to ask the librarian for help, sounds more like social anxiety to me and less like being awkward or introverted. Just my 2 cents.

    Like Katherine and Lisa, I’m an introvert but don’t have anxiety. I’m fine at large conventions, weddings, etc., and while I’m not prone to striking up conversations with strangers, I don’t mind interacting with them. For me introversion is clearest in that I experience sensory overload when I’ve been in a loud, busy setting for too long, and sometimes even when there are just a few people talking over each other (my aunt and uncle do this and it drives me bonkers).

    I think one problem is that a lot of people still don’t understand the distinctions and, as Katherine mentioned, the social cues. Just because I’m sitting in a corner doesn’t mean I’m shy, in a bad mood, or antisocial. Just because I’m dancing at a wedding reception doesn’t mean that, in a few hours, I won’t need some serious quiet. The first time I mentioned being introverted to my mom, she said “That’s not true! You’re really friendly!” Well, sure, but… 😛

    Anyway, hang in there! Hopefully there’s a lot of free chocolate at this wedding you’re going to. 🙂 Looking forward to the next blog post.

    Like

  4. YESSSSS… All the yes in the world. I despise asking staff members for help in any situation! And I feel SO AWKWARD when it’s time to mingle during a big social event. Like, I can feeeellll the awkward dripping off of me. *shudders*

    Like

    1. Buuuttt… Then again… I told you I’m a paradox. Because there are some days that I need to talk/socialize (in small, chill groups, of course. Lol!) Like, I feel great when we talk!! Not so much when I’m stuck in a big crowd with dozens of people asking if I finally have a boyfriend. XD

      Like

Leave a Reply

