Christmas Memories

vintage-christmas-christmas-32525986-500-375

 

It’s Christmastime!

It’s Christmastime?

IT’S CHRISTMASTIIIIIIIME!!!

(usually how my thought process goes from November 1st to December 25th)

Christmas is my favorite time of year and it is fast approaching (aka TOMORROW)), and I really wanted to do a festive post to sprinkle onto the season. So I thought I’d share a few memories from Christmases past ^_^

The most picturesque Christmas I had was when we lived in Georgia. I was about four or five and in the house we had a large living room to the right, a wooden stairway in the center, and two swinging doors that led to the kitchen on the right.

We set up a giant tree (well, giant to my four-year-old eyes) in the corner, hung the stockings on the mantel, wound red ribbon garland on the rails of the stairs, and lit the fireplace to ward off the cold every night.

My brothers and I slept in front of the fireplace on Christmas Eve, watching the flames flicker and dance up the chimney. We wondered how Santa was going to come down without igniting his backside on fire. Mom assured us they would put it out later. We dozed by the warmth of the glow and pretended to be asleep as Dad carried us up to bed. Strangely enough, I don’t remember that Christmas morning.

Fast forward to nine-year-old me in Florida, who had long, stringy brown hair, a little too much attitude, and a sentimental spirit beyond repair.

We had just moved houses.

Literally.

We moved on Christmas Eve.

Our other house was only fifteen minutes away, and we had just moved our beds, furniture, and Christmas tree into the new house.

I’ll never forget this moment.

I was walking out of the shower (dripping wet because I never dried off) and Dad told me to come into the living room. I did and saw a black tail swish beneath the couch.

I thought it was a snake.

After some prodding, Dad revealed a cat! I GOT A CAT FOR CHRISTMAS! (her name is Peanut and she’s still alive ^_^)

That same night, my mom left at midnight to go back to the other house and retrieve my hamster. Why? Because I’d be heartbroken without her. She surprised me with that in the morning.

Best parents of the year.

Zoom in to recent years, as in last year. For the past four Christmases, my family and I have gone camping in Georgia to get some colder air, see some lights, and reminisce about living there long ago.

Last year…was rough. It rained every. Single. Day.

And this wasn’t normal rain.

I love rain. I really do. I thoroughly enjoy stormy weather.

We got 17 inches in five days.

In a pop-up camper.

That leaked.

A lot of places were flooding, actually, but we were on a mountain in a high spot, so we weren’t literally washed away. But it was wet. And it wasn’t even cold!! It was hot!

I was laying on my end of the camper, feet drawn to my chest because the bottom corner of the mattress and blankets were soaked.

We have a dome that extends from our camper to give us more coverage, and a large wicker mat that goes on the bottom.

We usually set up the mini Christmas tree out there and open our gifts on the floor. This Christmas, however, the floor would squish and made little puddles every time we stepped on it, so we had all of our presents in a Tupperware box and made sure to keep our feet off the ground and dodge the few leaks that infiltrated the covering above.

But it was so much fun.

That afternoon we went hiking around the state park, got soaked by both the rain and a waterfall,  and made pancakes. It was wet, but one of the most memorable Christmases to date!

So there are just a few of my memories that came to mind while writing this!

This is probably going to be my last post of the year, so I wish you all a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year! Seriously, I have met so many wonderful friends through this blog and Twitter, I love you guys so much!

What are some holiday memories you’d like to share? I’d love to hear them! =D

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas Memories

Leave a Reply

